Nov 10, 2022

Remake a World Gala

"Every human is the other human. We are one world."

—Ellen Stewart
La MaMa Founder

a black arrow pointing downward

Honorary Chair: Ping Chong

Photo of Ping Chong
Photo by Stephen Garrett

The Remake A World Gala celebrates La MaMa's artists and audiences who have long been part of our One World Vision.

  • Come celebrate La MaMa’s 60 years as a creative home for artists!
  • Toast the newly renovated 74A reimagined for future generations of artists!
  • See performances sharing new perspectives, practices, and rituals from artists around the world.
  • Dine in the legendary Ellen Stewart Theatre as we pay tribute to seven outstanding individuals whose work as global citizens embodies La MaMa’s One World Vision

Support this global event today - Remake A World!

Global Honorees

Photo of Beka Vučo

Beka Vučo, The Balkans/United States for her work to support and encourage people to build a better, more just, and open democratic society in the Balkans and South Eastern Europe using arts, culture, and education through her organization My Balkans, and three decades of work with the Open Society Foundations.

Members of Belarus Free Theatre in a room holding burning books, and there are burnt books on the floorh

Belarus Free Theater, Belarus for pioneering an award-winning global model of activism that unites artistic, geopolitical, environmental and human rights concerns, using theatre to build a movement for democracy, human rights and artistic freedoms. Belarus Free Theater is the only theater in Europe banned by its government on political grounds.

Photo of Alvaro Restrepo

Alvaro Restrepo, Colombia for his passions for contemporary dance and social justice, founding Cartagena’s The School of the Body, with a unique interdisciplinary focus on respect for the body that cultivates dances while at the same time addressing topics ranging from human rights to sexuality to drug addiction.

Photo of Cecile Guidote-Alvarez

Cecile Guidote-Alvarez, Philippines for her lifetime commitment to “cultural care giving” by providing free arts training to street children, the disabled, and Indigenous youth, as Executive Director of the National Committee for Culture and Arts, and director of TWITAS at La MaMa (Third World Institute of Theatre Arts Studies). She is the moving spirit behind the UNESCO DREAM Center and the International Theater Institute Philippines.

Photo of Duk-Hyung Yoo

Duk-Hyung Yoo, South Korea for his significant contribution to the international understanding of Asian arts, his impact on arts education through his work at the Seoul Institute of the Arts and his visionary commitment to using digital and emergent technologies to explore new forms of artmaking and cultural exchange across distance, creating a global network of artists and communities; that was the seed for what would become CultureHub.

A photo of Serhiy Zhadan in front of a dark background

Serhiy Zhadan, Ukraine for his work as an internationally recognized poet and novelist, a theater maker, and a revolutionary through on-the-ground action and establishment of the Serhiy Zhadan Charitable Foundation in 2017 to provide aid to the front-lines. Zhadan was recently nominated for a Nobel Prize and currently remains in Kharkiv to provide humanitarian aid in his hometown.

Photo of Richard Lanier

Richard Lanier, United States for his commitment to forging connections through cultural exchange over the course of his career, and his invaluable contributions to the global dialogue as president emeritus of the Asian Cultural Council and a founding trustee of the Trust for Mutual Understanding.

Gala Co-Chairs

Jacqueline Chu and Bridget Bobel McIntyre

Gala Committee

  • Scott Asen
  • Page Ashley
  • Beyer Blinder Belle Architects and Planners
  • Donald Capoccia
  • Frank Carucci & David Diamond
  • Eugene Chai
  • Jackie Chu
  • Claudia Doring-Baez
  • Jane Friedman
  • John Fulham
  • Tim Fulham & Lise Olney
  • Robert Goldberg/Yorke Construction Corporation
  • Karen Hauser & Warren Leight
  • Cheryl Henson
  • Gerald Herman
  • Jacqueline Judd & John Papanek
  • Steve Malkenson
  • Margaret Parker
  • Polly Parker & Damon Smith
  • Estelle Parsons
  • Richard Pinner & Ruth Epstein
  • Michael Pressel/RPO, Inc.
  • Irene Ramp & Buck Henry
  • Luis Ubiñas & Deborah Tolman
  • Brenda Walker & Peter Swords

Cultural Ambassadors (as of 4/18)

  • Enrique Pardo (Arcadia)
  • Liz Jones (Australia)
  • Constantina Bordin (Austria)
  • Cristiane Zuan Esteves (Brasil)
  • Lenerson Polonini (Brasil)
  • Gerald Thomas (Brasil/US)
  • Petar Todorov (Bulgaria)
  • Adam Seelig (Canada)
  • Marisa Buffone (Canada)
  • Bernardo Rey (Colombia)
  • Dubravka Vrgoč (Croatia)
  • Annette Mikkelsen (Denmark)
  • Alexandros Hahalis (Greece)
  • Sofia Tsekoura (Greece)
  • Berta Lidia Chirix (Guatemala)
  • John Scott (Ireland)
  • Adriana Garbagnati (Italy)
  • Allessandro Tessitore (Italy)
  • Dario D'Ambrosi (Italy)
  • Filippo De Capitani (Italy)
  • Henriku Tarayama (Japan)
  • Mitsuko Hisao and Nagai Hatsumi (Japan)
  • Naiko Minato (Japan)
  • Aroji Otieno (Kenya)
  • Du Yee Chang (Korea)
  • Sung Yeon Park (Korea)
  • Flaka Groanci (Kosovo)
  • Sinan Kajtazi (Kosovo)
  • Abla Khoury (Lebanon)
  • Maya Zbib (Lebanon)
  • Antonio Cerezo (Mexico)
  • María Elena Anaya (Mexico)
  • Jan Klug (Netherlands)
  • M.A. Whiteside and Arno Geels (Netherlands)
  • Potri Ranka Manis (Philippines)
  • Ana Konstantinović and Željko Maksimović (Serbia)
  • Dobrila Boba Stojnic (Serbia)
  • Patrick Ssenjovu (Uganda/US)
  • Peter Case (United Kingdom)
  • Mike Figgis (United Kingdom)
  • Kim Ima and Onni Johnson(United States)
  • Linda Mussman (United States)
  • Peter Sellars (United States)
  • Robert Patrick (United States)
  • Carlos Uriona (US/Argentina)

Board of Directors

  • Frank Carucci, President
  • Joan Rose, Vice President
  • Donald Capoccia, Treasurer
  • Richard Pinner, Secretary
  • Byung Koo Ahn
  • Eugene Chai
  • Jane Friedman
  • Mary Fulham
  • Timothy W. Fulham
  • Jeff Haley
  • Matthew Hall
  • Jill Hanekamp
  • Steven B. Malkenson
  • Wynn J. Salisch
  • Luis A. Ubiñas
  • Scott Wittman
  • Mia Yoo
  • Joel Zwick

Health and Safety

La MaMa requires proof of Covid-19 vaccination and ID at the door.

The show is produced under the following program(s):
No items found.

Special Event