Club Riot
The Club
October 21 - 30, 2005
Friday - Saturday 10:00pm
Sunday - 5:30pm
Tickets $15
purchase tickets online
Heidi Latsky

Box office 212.475.7710

“Dancing is fierce, the choreography arresting.”
--The New Yorker

“A riotous ride-nonstop and cutting edge.”
--Jeremy Alliger

"Club Riot" is a theatrical, cutting edge, high-energy dance theatre event. The structure of the piece is inspired by “Happenings,” “Raves” and “Sensory Theatre.” In Club Riot, 9 dancers portraying whimsical to wacky characters including a palm reader, a DJ who roasts nuts, a face painter and a masseuse who journey from obedience through rebellion into ecstasy. Through a hyper stimulation of the audience’s sensory faculties, Club Riot, utilizing a mélange of sights, sounds, smells and tastes aims to entice, flirt, tease, challenge and stimulate. Internationally renowned choreographer, Heidi Latsky and her company, Heidi Latsky Dance, combine aesthetic technique and the joy of movement to create an intoxicating and exhilarating theatrical experience for the viewer. An experience that by the end, dares them to join the Dance and Riot in the Club at La MaMa e.t.c.

Heidi Latsky (Choreographer): A celebrated principal dancer for Bill T. Jones / Arnie Zane Dance during the years 1987 through 1993. Before forming Heidi Latsky Dance in 2001, Ms. Latsky collaborated with Lawrence Goldhuber in the critically acclaimed duo Goldhuber & Latsky (1993-2000). Her work and company has performed at the American Dance Festival, Jacob Äôs Pillow, Steps Festival (Switzerland), PICA (Portland, OR), Canada Dance Festival (Ottawa), Dance Theater Workshop, Movement Research at Judson Church, the 92nd Street Y, Harkness Dance Project, Martha @ Mother, Pittsburgh's Three Rivers Arts Festival, Lincoln Center, Brooklyn Academy of Music, Danceworks (Toronto), Espace Tangente (Montreal), Cannes International Festival de Danse, SUNY Postdam and Dance Umbrella (Boston, MA).

Club Riot is performed by Christina Briggs, Jeffery Freeze, Matt Henley, Jillian Hollis, Johari Mayfield, Kerry Nicholson, Christine Poland, Terrence Poplar, and Jenny Rocha with Musical Direction by Frank Ponzio.

2005 page